DAY 2: What is Paleo AIP and Why Should You Care?

I’ll tell you all about paleo and AIP in a couple paragraphs, but first, the purpose of this 30 day discipline is to see where I end up in 30 days, will I feel better? be stronger? have more energy? lets see.

Tuesday, I woke up feeling like I had fallen off a cliff. Every muscle in my body hurt. Probably because I went swimming on Monday and used every muscle. Breakfast was salmon with lemon ghee greens. Yum! Lunch was a strawberry arugula salad with a special dressing. Dinner was Meatballs and radishes. Sounds odd but it was really good. Snacks? Beet bone broth, which sounds weird at first, but is amazing. And kombucha, the flavored homemade kind. Also amazing.  With the other paleo plan I had been on, you have protein every meal, so skipping feels funny, but i’m giving this a try.

In fact, by the afternoon my stomach felt amazingly good, and I wasn’t tired like the day before. I went home, made more kombucha, — my recipe is basically a gallon of tea, a cup of sugar, the scooby and some of the kombucha from the last batch. I am experimenting with flavors. I also made some instant pot deer roast. Not for me, as my meals are taken care of, but for my mom and dad. – hope they like it.

What is the Paleo diet? Google will tell you a lot of things, but in a nutshell, the modern version is vegetables, fruits, proteins, (meat), fat, nuts, seeds. That’s the simple take. Why should you eat it? Turns out all the processed buddy burgers and packaged hohos are stripped of their nutritional value , hard to digest and don’t add health. Vegetables, fruit, and protein do.

Many many people have turned their health around, lowered blood pressure, stopped adult onset diabetes, regulated their hormones with just a paleo diet.

Others need a bit more. The Autoimmune Paleo Diet (AIP) also removes nightshades, seeds, nuts, and is necessary for many with autoimmune diet to stop the inflammation that is causing illness.

These are simple explanations, the first thing people want to know, is “are you a scientist” and the answer is No. I’m not a scientist, I’m a researcher who has been following food and health issues for more than 20 years. So I’m going to point you to the people with extensive knowledge.

Paleo: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/

Autoimmune Paleo: https://www.thepaleomom.com/start-here/the-autoimmune-protocol/

Wahls Protocol focusing on different veggies: http://www.phoenixhelix.com/2013/04/08/wahls-veggie-protocol-qa/

Kombucha: https://wellnessmama.com/2673/kombucha-recipe/

Bone Broth: will be added to tomorrow’s post. This life giving soup/drink deserves more time.

IMG_4583

Leave a Reply

